top of page

Supplements and the Billion dollar industry

Ouch, that's a loaded title isn't it ;)

So over the years I have started developing no need for supplements, actually my body reacts better without it and just simply eating what I require and staying on track with my vitamins works way better for me, I'm not saying cut the Whey and Creatine (provided it's not fill of junk-not pointing any fingers at some popular brand that was recently taken on ;) these are really the only ones I would suggest to my clients.

All I'm saying is do not jump on to every fad buss you see.

Everyone wants to believe that some 'wonder" powder will change your training and amazingly change the way you lose fat and the effect of your workout, but sadly it takes more than some powder, or pill (and this list is long) by the time you walk out of there you have spend almost R3,000 on supplements that you could've spend on real food. The reality is that most Athletes do not even take supplements, most of what we require is in our foods we eat.

Let me explain whats Whey protein, Whey is a by-product of the cheese-making process – the liquid left over once the milk has been curdled and strained and is loaded with lots of great branched amino acids.

Yes you get the "going to the gym Bru's" that swears by taking 8 different kind of supplements but the fact of the matter is that you can be in good shape and still the wrong things, the strange science is that we look at these people in gym and naturally assume its the supplements that get them into shape when the fact of the matter is , not. Most of these "bru's and dude's" live for gym and watch every ounce of food going into their body.

I get it, you want to buy that meal replacement shake or Aloe oil for weight-loss and hope for the best. But the reality is this is not the solution, and yes most Fitness people try and sell this only for profit, do not fall into the deep down rabbit hole of supplements.


bottom of page